Past Events

VIEWING PAST EVENTS

For upcoming events please look here.

Jamboree on The Air (JOTA)

Mark your calendars. JOTA is ON! We need as many hams as possible to support youth on amateur radio and to show our commitment to the Scouts.Location is Camp Greenough in Yarmouth, site of the operation we plan to build with the ARRL grant funding.

Date: 
Saturday, October 15, 2022 - 08:00 to Sunday, October 16, 2022 - 18:00

NEARFest

Near Fest

NEAR-Fest (Fall)

Many BARC members will be in attendance, so if you are considering making the trip ask around, and you may be able to carpool (if you want).  This is a multiple-day event, but the primary buy/sell day starts early on Friday.  If you plan on only attending one day, Friday is the day.  If you are coming up on Saturday, plan on arriving first thing in the morning as some sellers start packing up early, around noon, even though the Fest ends at 2 PM.

Date: 
Friday, October 14, 2022 - 08:00 to Saturday, October 15, 2022 - 14:00

Antique Wireless Association 2022 Annual Conference

Newsletter Logo.png

Date: 
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 - 09:00 to Saturday, October 8, 2022 - 17:00

Harwich Cranberry Festival

Get the word out on BARC and ham radio...enjoy time with fellow hams...demonstrate ham radio. 

Date: 
Saturday, September 17, 2022 - 07:30 to Sunday, September 18, 2022 - 17:00

MS Challenge Walk

Call for volunteers.  Operators will use HTs to provide communication over the BARC repeater with event coordinators at rest stops along the route. Different routes each day.

Please do not use the BARC repeater for routine traffic on Fridada the 9th and Sunday the 11th to reserve it for the Walk organizers.

To volunteer, contact John.n1ypn@gmail.com

Date: 
Friday, September 9, 2022 - 07:00 to Sunday, September 11, 2022 - 16:30

Northeast HamXposition 2022

Formerly known as Boxborough, the Northeast HamXppedition is the ARRL New England & Hudson Divisions convention and fleamarket.

See https://hamxposition.org/

 

 

Date: 
Friday, August 26, 2022 - 08:00 to Sunday, August 28, 2022 - 18:00

W1BST Hamfest

W1BST Hamfest

Date: 
Saturday, August 20, 2022 - 08:00

Brooks Park Festival Harwich

Opportunity to operate with your BARC friends, and to publicize BARC and amateur radio.

See https://www.fairsandfestivals.net/events/details/2022-brooks-park-arts-a....

We need volunteers.

Contact: Jon N1ILZ

Date: 
Saturday, August 13, 2022 - 07:00 to Sunday, August 14, 2022 - 17:00

2022 - New England Forest Rally (NEFR)

2022 NEW ENGLAND FOREST RALLY

The rally is based at the Sunday River Ski resort in Maine.  Tim Carter, W3ATB, is the Chief of Communications for this event.
This video describes the event.

Date: 
Friday, July 15, 2022 (All day) to Saturday, July 16, 2022 (All day)

Brooks Park Festivals Harwich

BARC will be operating at the Brooks Park Festivals in Harwich July 9-10 and August 13-14. This is an opportunity for club visibility/public relations and for member recruitment, as well as fun, fellowship and operating.

We need volunteers!

We plan to set up an HF transceiver (at least) and supporting equipment under a pop-up canopy. The festivals run 9AM-4PM Saturday and Sunday, with setup Friday afternoon.

Date: 
Saturday, July 9, 2022 - 07:30 to Sunday, July 10, 2022 - 17:00

ARRL Field Day 2022


More information for Field Day and BARC is on our Field Day page.

Date: 
Friday, June 24, 2022 - 09:00 to Sunday, June 26, 2022 - 17:00

Our South Carolina Statewide Exercise

Presenters:
Roger Mull KD4JQJ & Gabe Turner, KJ4EEZ

See ratpac.us

Date: 
Thursday, June 9, 2022 - 21:00

ARRL Field Day Preparation

See ratpac.us

Date: 
Wednesday, June 8, 2022 - 21:00

160 Vertical - Helical Wound

160 Vertical - Helical WoundPresenter: Bill AB8J See ratpac.us

Date: 
Wednesday, June 1, 2022 - 21:00

RF Exposure in Public Service Events

See ratpac.us

Presenter: Marty Woll N6VI

Date: 
Thursday, May 26, 2022 - 21:00

Walks for Alzheimer’s

2022 Alzheimer's Walk
Walks for Alzheimer’s

The Barnstable Amateur Radio club is helping the Alzheimer's Family Support Center to run a fundraiser walk at Scusset Beach Reservation in Bourne. The 1-mile walk will be along the Cape Cod Canal bike/walking path. The event is open to all who wish to support the cause.

Date: 
Saturday, May 14, 2022 (All day)

Using Ham Radio Comms to Support Medical Teams in Remote Areas of Honduras

See more info here.

Presenter:John Kirchoff, KB0UUP, IHS Communications Director

Date: 
Thursday, May 12, 2022 - 21:00

Netlogger Software

See tiny.cc/ratpac-list

Presenter: John Dean, K0JDD

Date: 
Wednesday, May 11, 2022 - 21:00

New England QSO Party

The New England QSO Party on May 7th and 8th is a great time to check out antenna systems and offers a moderately-paced opportunity to work new states and countries.

Date: 
Saturday, May 7, 2022 - 16:00

NEAR-Fest

New England Amateur Radio FestivalDeerfield, NHSee https://near-fest.com/

Date: 
Friday, April 29, 2022 - 09:00 to Saturday, April 30, 2022 - 14:00

What's in YOUR Go-Kit?

What's in YOUR Go Kit?
Being able to respond and be deployed for a communications emergency requires the operator to have the necessary equipment at his disposal.

Date: 
Thursday, April 28, 2022 - 21:00

No Tools Troubleshooting

The art of troubleshooting is a skill every ham should possess. It is a logical thought process that will help you diagnose or fix almost anything.

Date: 
Wednesday, April 27, 2022 - 21:00

BARC at CCMakers

The Barnstable Amateur Radio Club will be at Cape Cod Makers LaunchPad Makerspace to give a presentation on amateur radio as a hobby Saturday April 23rd at 6 p.m.

Date: 
Saturday, April 23, 2022 - 18:00

Tools & Techniques for Tracking Down RFI

Tony Brock-Fisher, K1KPTony will present a talk about RFI: What it is, how to correlate and localize various sources of RFI, Tools and techniques for the 'hunt', and methods for remediation.Tony was first licensed at age 13 in 1967, and has been active continuously since 1987.

Date: 
Wednesday, April 20, 2022 - 21:00

Boston Marathon - Volunteers needed

The Boston Marathon is in need of an additional 80 – 100 volunteers to provide communications for the 2022 Boston Marathon.  It’s a great opportunity to provide a public service, meet many fellow hams, and just have fun enjoying amateur radio during this event.  It’s a great way for new hams and old hams alike to show what amateur radio is all about. 

 

Date: 
Monday, April 18, 2022 - 07:00

RF Exposure Saftey (FCC Reg) Update

See tiny.cc/ratpac-listPresenter:Wayne Overbeck N6NBI've been involved in many aspects of amateur radio over the 65 years I've been licensed.  It's been fun.  I did some of the earliest portable e.m.e.

Date: 
Wednesday, April 13, 2022 - 21:00

Pages